Where To Get A Surety Bond Cost | Where To Get A Surity Bond

Oregon

Oregon Flag

How to become a Notary in Oregon

 

The process for becoming a signing agent varies from state to state. Each state sets its own notarial rules, seal and record book requirements, state-approved educational courses, duties, procedures and length of term.

A potential notary public in Oregon who is seeking to acquire his or her notary commission is initially required to file an application with the Office of the Secretary of State. In order to do this, the applicant for the position of notary public in Oregon must meet a number of specific qualifications set by the state.

Furthermore, an applicant for the position of notary public in Oregon must pay an application or commissioning fee to the commissioning authority and take an oath of office. Depending on the state, the oath of office may be incorporated into the application to be filed with the county clerk or another local official.

Please note that a potential notary public in Oregon who is seeking to attain their notary commission may be required to take additional steps to acquire their commission, such as taking a state-approved educational course, passing an examination or obtaining a notary bond. As mentioned previously, the requirements vary from state to state and are subject to amendments and changes.

Once the Secretary of State has reviewed the application, if all the requirements have been met, the applicant for position of notary public in Oregon is issued his or her notary commission. After this commission is issued it is filed by the county clerk for the state of Oregon.

For constantly-updated information on becoming a notary public in Oregon, please contact the Oregon Office of the Secretary of State. The page of the Secretary of State is a great place to start researching the specific requirements set by the state of Oregon.

Oregon Signing Agent Links

Notary Public in Oregon – Secretary of State

Notary Public in Oregon – National Notary Association

Notary Public in Oregon: Quick Facts

 Term: Four years
 Requirement: Vary; however, generally, these state that one must:

  • Be at least 18 years of age
  • Be a legal resident of Oregon or hold employment there
  • Be able to read and write English
  • Have not had a notary commission revoked in the past five years
  • Have not had a felony conviction in the past decade
 Classes: Required three-hour course after June 1, 2006
 Exam: Required
 Bond: $1,000
 Journal: Required
 Seal: Black-ink stamp
 Fee: $20.00
 Comment: Journals are to be held by people who hold the office of notary public in the state of Oregon for seven years after the expiration of a commission and then destroyed.